What's new
What's new

Blower rotation question

GregSY

Diamond
This is a squirrel cage type blower....as viewed in this photo, it rotates in a clockwise direction. The intake of air is in the center of the wheel, and the discharge of the air flow is in the direction of the blue arrow.

That said, can someone explain how that works? It seems the curvature of the vanes is wrong for that type of flow path?

Attachments

• IMG_4444.JPG
    IMG_4444.JPG
    64.2 KB · Views: 17,069
What does the housing look like a picture of it would really help, I've repaired blowers with double squirrel cages and and found that some one had installed it incorrectly.

Years ago, when I was a mechanical inspector at the Kaneohe Marine Corps Air Station, I had one of the machinists in the machine shop overhaul a large air handling unit on top of a dynamometer room. After completing the overhaul and starting it up, he called me over to the jobsite and said that there was a great reduction of airflow since the overhaul. I opened the air handler's door and quickly noted that the squirrel cage impeller was installed backwards.
I mentioned this to the machinist and he argued with me saying that the impeller on all of the waterpumps that he had overhauled are installed that way.
I concurred with him on the installation of waterpump impellers, but not on air handling units. I finally convinced him to reverse the impeller. He was amazed at the increase of airflow.
As an air conditioning mechanic for 20 some years, I probably have overhauled a hundred air handlers. That's why I'm familiar with them.
steve