What's new
What's new

Boring 4140 with HSS on a lathe

nerdyrcdriver

Aluminum
Hi everyone!

I am a student on an SAE Baja team at my college. I am running into trouble trying to bore a larger hole in a part made of 4140 on our bridgeport ezpath lathe. I got an awesome surface finish using recommended feeds and speeds and carbide tooling. But our only boring bar set (10 degree) uses HSS tooling. I have tried everything I can think of and have found online but the surface finish is always bad.

The best surface finish was at:
212 RPM (calculated to be 100sfpm)
.010" depth per pass
.001 IPR

I couldn't find any good videos on how to set up a boring bar correctly. I had the tool angled slightly upward just above the center of the part with a very slight angle on the tool post.

What could I do to improve? Are there any good resources online for how to set up a boring bar?

I feel like some how that I had the tool set up was causing more friction/ware instead of cutting action. No matter what I did it always screeched, though after some adjustment that came way down, but still not perfect.

is the tool on centre?Did you check the hardness of the 4140 mat'l
Feed is on the slow side.Tool nose raduius?Tool stick out.how much is unsupported?What size hole? what size boring bar? coolant?
"good resources online".May start looking for a new career soon.They havebeen boring holes in stuff for along time and you cannot find info?wtf.
sorry for the pissyness but us old guys like to see alittle effort.

I feel like some how that I had the tool set up was causing more friction/ware instead of cutting action. No matter what I did it always screeched, though after some adjustment that came way down, but still not perfect.

What is your net relief angle on the nose?