What's new
What's new

Cutting Large Sphereical Radius....pre-CNC ?

machine1medic

Titanium
Last year I worked on some large bearing-housings from a power-plant.
This would be the outer component.
Split of corse, but they must have been bolted together......
and I picture must have been on a 36" Bullard or larger.

But what would have been the method / attachment, Used to cut
the sphereical radius inside the housing?
I envision an arm that would extend from a fixed point in the table center
and hold a cutter, the arm then being swung verticaly by ram movement.

Natural I could be over-complicating this, as it was surely done often
and may have been some very simple arrangemnt.

Thanks and have a good Week-End.

M1M

OOps, my bad,

Tracer. My dad made high-accuracy hemispherical shells this way back in the '60's.

Regards.

Finegrain
Thanks!
I guess I was thinking pre-tracer, but surprisingly, tracers go back
quite a ways. I worked in a shop that had a Rockford open-sided Planer.
It had a hydrolic tracer with a roller-stylus. The old Master said
"It duplicted prop-blades, and was incredibly accurate".

M1M

Re propeller blades, remember when there was a big flap about someone selling some big CNC mills to the Russians? It never saw a public statement, but a friend told me that the reason there was such a fuss was that up to then there was enough difference in the Russian submarine propellers that the individual sub could be identified by sound signature. The CNC machines were so uniform that we lost that advantage.

Bill

On a VBM, we used a pivoted arm in one ram driven by the other ram.

Find radial and axial center with the left ram, attach link on arm to right ram, feed up with right ram, end of bar with tool describes/cuts a radius. Very accurate.

That was about the only fine feed I ever used on a larger VBM.

Cheers,

George

I'd do cart-wheels , but it I'd end up in the E.R.

On a VBM, we used a pivoted arm in one ram driven by the other ram.