What's new
What's new

Broaching keyway w/o an arbor press

GregSY

Diamond
I have little experience with broaching.

I want to broach (1) key way in a cast iron pulley, 1" dia bore with a 3/16" keyway.

If I buy a broach and bushing normally meant to be used with an arbor press, but don't have a press, what are my odds of getting a good result? I do have a hydraulic press, and since I'm only doing one speed is not a real issue. I also have a 17" drill press and Wells Index 847 mill if they could be used.

Hi Greg,

Not that I've done a great deal of broaching, but I've done some. I'll tell you how I have done it and I'll probably get wacked by some people here for telling you. Place the hole to be broached between two sturdy work tables just enough to clear the hole. Take a hand sledge hammer and a good size brass drift to protect the broach, begin by tapping to start and as the broach engages the hole and settles in you'll need to increase your hammering as needed. Then put the shim in and repeat. Use a little oil on the broach to make it happy.

Tom

Machinist Friend http://home.comcast.net/~em-engineering/Machine.exe

Last edited:
You can trivially create a keyway using nothing but a
lathe and a HSS toolbit. This one was done this way:

SF_gear16.jpg

That's steel, cast iron would be easier.

Jim

if you're careful the hydraulic press is fine. Broaches are pricey and fragile - that's why the arbor press is best, because you can feel the action. Hydraulic you can't feel and it can apply way more pressure than is needed so if something is slightly askew it'll snap the broach...but like i say, it can be done with care. at the beginning I would s top every so often and release the pressure and resume, that's how i do it on the arbor press to make sure there's no lateral forces (ie what was straight up and down with no pressure might have move slightly askew with pressure, if that makes any sense)