What's new
What's new

Replacing Teclock DI crystal???? Help!

Racebrewer

Aluminum
Hi Guys,

I've been using a Teclock 2" travel dial indicator for over 20 years to build 2-stroke kart motors. I was packing up my tools to go to NJMP and I managed to drop the indicator and, of course, the end hit the ground.

@#$%^&*, I said...... Over and over......

Two weeks later, I found an identical (but functioning) 2" Teclock DI on EBay, which I "won" and received (Thanks to Tools4Cheap.net). Ist thing I ever EBay'd.

The crystal on my old DI is much, much better than the one on the functioning DI I bought (which I knew when I bid). I'd like to swap them, but I don't know how. There are no screw heads on the ring holding the crystal. No watch repair experience....

Does anyone have any ideas? Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'll either have to swap the crystal/ring assembly or just swap the crystals.

Thanks,
John

Typically these either have a bezel that prys off (as in a Starrett 196), or a standard compression type watch crystal in a bezel held on by some mechanism (a wire that you have to disengage using a piece of wire stuck into a hole in the bezel). If the former, easy peasee. If the later, you should use a crystal compressor (a polyethylene ram that push down on the cystal over an opening), or a crystal remover (which looks like a bird claw wiht about 15 talons, and closes using a handle that screws down and closes the claw, squeezing the crystal).

Or send it to Long Island Indicator. Or email them.

Jim