What's new
What's new

A puzzling threading problem...!

Alley Cat

Plastic
Hello everyone,

As you may have seen from my previous thread, I have recently purchased a Colchester Student.

I have been playing around getting used to threading with it but have run into a puzzling problem. (At least for me it is puzzling)

I have to thread with the half-nuts closed since I do not have a thread dial indicator.

For informational purposes it has a 6mm metric leadscrew and I am cutting metric threads.

Now I have done quite a bit of threading using my Myford and I have none of these problems - so, although not what I would call an accomplished threader, I also do not see myself as a complete beginner when it comes to threading.

The problem is this...: When I move the cutting tool in directly using the cross-slide, I get a good looking and appropriately pitched thread. Of course doing it this way doesn't necessarily give one as good a quality finish as one would like, nevertheless I could probably live with the thread, but I am looking at doing something perfectly here, not just getting it roughly right!

NOW...when I do what I have always been taught to do, and that is to swing the compund rest 29,5 degrees to the right, and move the tool in using the compound rest so that the tool only cuts on the one side, the thread is badly impaired - it almost looks as though the angle is changed so that the thread becomes somewhat wider and shallower. The thread is for all intents and purposes useless.

And yes...I am retracting the tool before I run the tool back along to the beginning of the thread to start the next run...!

I must be doing something wrong here that is quite simple to rectify. Please tell me what I may be doing wrong.

Regards,

Alley Cat:bawling:

External or internal ? Right or Left hand thread?

Ext RH - offset right*; LH offset left
Int RH - offset left : LH offset right