What's new
What's new

Can we discuss broaching machines.

Miguels244

Diamond
Broaching machines.

So it occurred to me I'd like to broach some mid sized parts.
Rifle actions and equivalent sized objects.

I know nothing about broaching machines and tooling them
Hydraulic?
Horizontal?
Vertical?
New used?

Quantity? Budget? Own use, or parts for sale? All will be revealed with a little more info... ;)

Budget is the question...
Parts for sale and job shop.
Not production, I'm an automation designer, I can build that machine.
I'm a budding garage guy...and want to be able to do something most people can't.

Well, let's get into materials you want to cut, the "aggressiveness" of the profiles (how far from a simple round hole), whether you want to one-shot or are willing to using multiple broaches to get the final profile. Are you designing and making or farming out the broaches, or using commercially available cutters?

Well, let's get into materials you want to cut, the "aggressiveness" of the profiles (how far from a simple round hole), whether you want to one-shot or are willing to using multiple broaches to get the final profile. Are you designing and making or farming out the broaches, or using commercially available cutters?
I'd have the broaches made.
Something like a rifle action.
Not a huge cut.
https://d2t1xqejof9utc.cloudfront.net/screenshots/pics/42897bd0e99e88fc4e74c5df08e85cd1/large.jpg

You say broach, I think keyway, but I don't think that is what you are wanting to do? Do you have any kind of drawing or a hand sketch of what you are wanting to do?

It's basically 2 slots about .450 wide .140 deep with a .496 radius.

think a modified double d style broach there would be about a .700 dia threw hole.
the kicker is it need to be about 9 inches long.

I've been pull broaching holes in proprietary parts in my shop for 20+ years. I rebuilt my machine from a minibroach straddle broaching machine, and my broaches are all custom built to our specs.