What's new
What's new

Career advice... Toolmaker?

ritzblitz

Aluminum
Hi guys,
I am at an interesting point in my life. I am nearly finished with my degree in kinesiology from Penn State, but I can't see myself using it any time soon, I've lost interest in prosthetics and orthotics. However, I enjoy machining and I've worked at a machine shop over school breaks since I was 15. I have done nearly everything in our shop including setting up Swiss turn lathes.

Now I am an apprentice to the shop foreman, who in my eyes is a highly skilled toolmaker. I'm going full time now due to the completion of my degree and the foreman wants to make me his right hand and continue teaching me the trade.

My question is this- is a toolmaker still a valuable skillet in this age where everything is cnc? I enjoy the difficulties of manual machining but a lot of it is too slow to be practical.

Even though our shop has a "tool room" how many other shops do?

Thanks guys!
Alex

im a journeyman toolmaker, and my main tool is a cnc mill. convince him to embrace the technology. i had to spend all of my apprenticeship on manual machines, the whole time begging for them to give me a cnc. it works. i make a lot of money doing tool room type work, as well as many others do here on PM. but you will always need a manual machine so dont dispell the old iron just because its "out dated". and if you want to be a good tool maker, make it your priority. go after it with everything you have. take pride in your work, and remember that it shldnt look like it was made in china.

as far as what shops have tool rooms? only the good ones.

good luck and godspeed.

uncledenny