What's new
What's new

Chuck size for a 9' benchtop lathe

szilvesztera

Plastic
Hi, newbie here. I've been wanting to get into machining for a while now, as a hobby, and I finally purchased my first piece of equipment. It's a Wabeco D2400 german benchtop lathe (bought used for 950 USD equivalent):

eszterga.jpg

It's 220mm swing with 500mm between centers, so around 9' x 20', comes with a 100mm/4' three jaw chuck. The first addition I want to make is definitely a 4 jaw independent chuck, and I think the best size would probably be 5' which I can get new for around a 130 bucks. I live in Romania, so old USSR gear is available for cheaper, but the sizes start at 160mm/6'-ish. I can get a 160mm 4 jaw independent for 50 bucks or so. Do you think this little lathe could handle a chuck that size or should I just bite the bullet on a new, more appropriately sized chuck?

Also, I want to just pour a big slab of concrete and bolt the lathe down to it to improve stability, do you think it noticeably helps? If you have any quick and easy improvement/first step ideas, I'm all ears.

More information on the lathe here, but no there is no comment on the OEM chuck offerings.

Page Title

But it is stated that the spindle has a 3 Morse taper with a 20 mm bore. That information indicates to me that you should not use a heavy chuck, or one larger than 125 mm in diameter. The lathe is very lightly built, so a concrete base would probably not be better than a thick timber base.

Save your concrete for a time when you get a heavier machine. Most small shops start with light machines and gradually improve with more industrial quality as time goes by and experience is gained.

Larry

IMO a 6'' 4 jaw will be okay, just bear in mind imbalance and speeds .....take a little extra care.

To the naysayers