What's new
What's new

Circular Saw Blade For Aluminum ?

allloutmx

Titanium
A good deal of you already know, but for those that dont im just getting started in the "home shop".... Im tight on cash, was thinking to try cutting the aluminum for my upcoming project on a shop saw. 3/4" thick by 1-1/2" wide 6061 t6... Seems like it would work with use of some choolant aye?
Anyone ever been in a pinch and done this? What blade would you suggest?

I have had good luck using a table saw with a carbide tipped combination blade. Eye, face, and hearing protection is a must along with a heavy long sleeved shirt. The chips will fly everywhere and they hurt on impact with exposed skin. A little wax on the blade is all the coolant I used.

Good luck, be safe,

Rick

If you are cutting this with a 12" Chop saw. I would go down to Lowes or Home Depot and pickup a 12" x 80 tooth triple chip grind blade used for cutting non-ferrous aluminum. probably about $50.00

Check around and see if they have any tallow or stick wax to apply to the blade every once in awhile. You could also cut this on a table saw. 10" x 60 tooth for aluminum. Use the stick wax same as on chop saw.

Bill

The wax works well on saw blades. I've found any quality carbide wood saw blade will work fine on aluminum. I've used the non ferrous grind saw blades, they do work better, but for the random cuts its not worth swapping out blades.

10" miter saw with the right blade. It took me a couple years to find the right blade. This is the right blade. http://www.amazon.com/Freud-LU89M01...9&sr=8-3&keywords=freud+industrial+nonferrous

Before I bought a nonferrous auto-saw we'd do about ten thousand cuts a year on a standard Dewalt 10" miter saw in the size you're talking. Liberal use of WD40 for lubricant (on the blade and on the stock) and you'll get a couple years per blade. While I was farting around with $50 hardware store blades I was lucky to get a couple months. And its only $80.