What's new
What's new

The Demise of High School Machining (Bit of a Rant)

nopoint

Aluminum
The Demise of High School Machining?
(sorry it's a bit of a rant)
A recent post by electromech31 in the for sale / wanted forum about High School Machining has got me thinking about the sad state of practical education. I am a Technology Education teacher, “shop” for the older folks. The high school that I attended as a student had a basic woods program but had discontinued the metals portion years before. The only metals education revolved around a buzz box and an old horizontal band saw. Our instruction was limited to “make sure the exhaust is turned on if you are welding.” Coming from a farming background I had some basic “farmer” welding skills. While attending college I took two “materials and processes” classes. We had a class period or two to perfect each of our welding processes. In the machine shop portion we made a simple marking gauge. We spent one day molding sand and another pouring aluminum wall hangings or something equally useful. All told I would guess there was between 6 and 12 hours of actual hands on metal working during my entire 4 years as a college student. Admittedly I did spend some more time in the labs working on “Government jobs” although they were generally discouraged. I managed to graduate college with a fairly decent GPA still unable to read a veneer caliper, dial caliper or micrometer. I had seen CNC equipment but had no idea how to operate. One problem is in the breadth of “technology education” which might include; board drafting, AutoCAD, 3D Design, manual machining, CNC machining, woodworking, cabinetry, construction, electricity, electronics, photography, printing, pagination, Photoshop, welding, Auto mechanics, transportation, small engines, engineering, and still more that I can’t think of. Basically college prepared me for little more than a dusting of each field.