What's new
What's new

cut off tool - don't know how to use it

bob in maine

Plastic
My cut off tool chatters even under an oil drip when cutting 1 inch round stock mild steel .
Chips come off, but no steady spiral of steel shaving.
Should it be on center or above center?
Should the tool have a relief cut on the sides so it does not rub as it cuts in?
Should it be ground down to cut thinner than the width of the cut off tool stock ?
Should the work speed be slower than for regular turning ?
Perhaps there is already a reference to this in past posts, but could not find it.
thanks Bob

The best luck I have had is to slow your spindle speed way down. I use the lowest speed on the back gear on my Sears Atlas. I try to center the tool on the work, and usually the action tends to pull it a little to the low side. Feed by hand as much as it will take, and use lots of cutting oil. dont just drip it on, but use a steady stream of it. I'm just an amateur, but it works for me.

One rookie to another... We'll see how I do against the pro's

Should it be on center or above center? - ON center or slightly below. If you don't know how to test this, take a small ruler or any thin light straight metal and lightly pinch it between your tool and your work. It should stick straight up and down.

Should the tool have a relief cut on the sides so it does not rub as it cuts in? - Most cutoff blades have some side relief already ground in. You need good relief on the nose, and the nose should be slightly angled.

Should it be ground down to cut thinner than the width of the cut off tool stock ? - NO! If anything, the cutting edge should be wider than the rest of the tool.

Should the work speed be slower than for regular turning ? Hmmm... I don't think so.

ALSO - keep your tool overhang as short as possible. So if you are parting off a 1" piece, have only 1/2" plus a little bit sticking out of the tool holder.