What's new
What's new

Cutting question, 304 stainless

Stevedbme

Plastic
Good afternoon all.
I am a journeyman Sheet Metal mechanic.
I'm working on a project that we're doing 304 SS blowpipe/material handling piping.
We're bolting the connections, and the rings which acts as the connectors are my topic.

The material is 11 ga, aka, 0.125"
I have an id opening of 4" dia.
I need to increase the opening to 4.375" id.

We're using a 1/4" die-grinder, and a die-grinder cutting bit.
I've done 2 of the rings so far, and have 6-8 more to go. I'm going to say it's taken me a good 45-70 minutes per ring.

I asked my foreman if there was a mill/lathe on site so we could use them, and do it in a shorter time. He just laughed, and said if I didn't want to work, I could go home.
When I explained that it's my job as a journeyman to do my job in the most cost effective manner possible he got pissed off.

At this point, I need to know what the best tool, for a die grinder bit to use, to minimize the time involved.
I live in a smaller community so machine tooling supply houses aren't really ubiquitous here. I.e., I'm expecting to have to buy a tool online.
Thank you for your input up front.

Plasma cutter would be the quickest/easiest. Surely you have access to one? Properly set up, the cut would likely not require much finishing, definitely less time than you're spending now. If you can find a hi-def CNC table you likely wouldn't need to finish at all.,

Plasma cutter would be the quickest/easiest. Surely you have access to one? Properly set up, the cut would likely not require much finishing, definitely less time than you're spending now. If you can find a hi-def CNC table you likely wouldn't need to finish at all.,

Yes, probably 45 seconds per part instead of 45 minutes.
Jeff

The OP's problem is his employer is selling time not efficiency.

Good afternoon all.
I am a journeyman Sheet Metal mechanic.