What's new
What's new

Die hobbing any one have experience doing this.

kpotter

Diamond
I have been making dies for almost 25 years, I dont know if I am doing it wrong. There are not many people left who still do it the old ways. I carve a master from o1 then heat treat it and I use a 500 ton clifton hobbing press to ram it into another block of soft tool steel. I then heat treat that block and put it back in the press and ram a block of hot tool steel into the female die to create a working male die. An old timer who still wont tell me shit said he has never watched anything so insane in his whole life. I have been doing this for years. I dont premachine the female die before plowing into it with the male die I dont heat it I do it cold. We make jewelry dies so its not rocket stuff or aerospace. The average die hits a couple hundred tons and we almost never have a failure. I have picked up a bunch of antique hobs and I have been using them the same way with no issues, they are not as massive as what I make but they hold up well. Am I doing this wrong.

No Kevin; you'e not doing this wrong.
Hobbing was once an accepted way of making mold cavities for plastic injection molds and what you describe is basically how it was done, except that only the first two steps (carving the plug and hobbing the female cavity) were required.
The proper measure of success with your method is whether you are satisfied with the result; you don't need anyone's approval.

So if you want to, you can tell Mr Nosey Parker to mind his own damn business and just let you succeed your own way.
I said so, and I'm just as much an authority as he is, so there!!:D

Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME
www.vancouverwireedm.com