What's new
What's new

Difficulty drilling nuts/bolts for safety wire

Honeybadger

Plastic
Hi folks,

I'm an absolute metalworking newbie, so please forgive me if this question seems absurdly silly/simple.

The backstory of my conundrum- it's a bit of a ramble.

I am in the process of rebuilding a honda comstar wheel for a '75 CB400T. It's a split aluminum spoke wheel (two spokes on either side of each of the five points of contact with the rim) with an aluminum rim. One of the joining rivets was loose, and finding replacement wheels is a nightmare, and there is an unbelievably small amount of information out there. People have just been replacing these rims when this happens for decades, and the supply is now running low, and the costs going up, so I decided to look into rebuilding it. Everyone screamed "DON'T DO IT, the rims say 'DO NOT DISASSEMBLE!' The wheel will lose its true and never regain it!" but I figured that the wheel was junk anyways if I screwed it up. So I used my drill press (floor standing, heavy cast iron, chinese made 16 speed belt drive with 220-4000rpm range. It's not milling machine accurate, but it doesn't wobble and feels quite accurate when drilling wood) to drill out the rivets one spoke at a time, checking the wheel on a balancer. No change in the runout, the fitment of the spokes is definitely not under tension. I then proceeded to carefully bore out the rivet holes to an m8 size (less than 1mm of material taken out, it was too big for an m7) and again, everything fits up nice and true.