What's new
What's new

How to be accurate with a Center Punch? Possible???

nicksorenson

Plastic
I build guitars for a living. I am trying to make a drilling jig (with drill bushings) for drilling the string holes in Telecaster style guitar bodies.

I have a cheap spring loaded one hand center-punch for metal. I am having the hardest time getting it to hit "Dead On" with my crosshairs on the piece I'm drilling. Am I using the wrong tool? I can get it within .010" to .020" or so but that's not accurate enough. I want it to be right where I want it.

I think part of the problem is that the point isn't fine enough. Is there a similar tool or the equivalent of what AWL is to wood but that can be used for metal?

Or am I overlooking something. I'd think that a person with some simple tools (the right centerpunch, a drill press, etc) could get this done.

thanks!!
Nick

Attachments

• TELE.HDR.ART1.jpg
    TELE.HDR.ART1.jpg
    55.5 KB · Views: 989
If you scribed the lines on your workpiece, you can use what's called a prick punch to feel where the lines cross. A prick punch has a very sharp tip, and will make a tiny dimple. Once you've made the dimple, you can use that to guide in your regular center punch.

A small machine shop with a fair bridgeport should be able to make one quite cheaply.
Make a drawing showing the locations, maybe even include a surface to help line things up to the neck.