What's new
What's new

Does anyone here have any experience with preventive maintenance?

Krai Gund

Plastic
I'm an intern for the summer who has been tasked with the creation of a preventive maintenance program. Our maintenance team (3 guys) is looking for some software to help manage maintenance. We already have instructions on PM's for each machine. Anyone have experience with any particular maintenance software? Is maintenance software a waste of money? All PM's under monthly will be handled by the machine operators. Our maintenance guys could always use outlook, but that has no way to track inventory use, record time spent, or keep records for when someone wants to run a report. Any advice on creating a PM program would be greatly appreciated.

Just do a Excel spreadsheet, that way you can customize the cells, rows, and columns to your liking. The likelihood of a software to fit your exact needs is remote at best.

Like ifixcnc said, an Excel spreadsheet is your best bet. That's what I use.
I log all maintenance on our machines, down to pretty small details like simple limit switch replacements all the way up to ballscrew and linear guide replacements.
With 65 machines to keep track of, I'd be lost without it.
Often times it's a big help in diagnosing problems as well, I can scan through the log to see when the the last time an encoder for example or other parts were replaced.
It helps to take a quick look and say "hey that 'thing' hasn't been replaced in 2 years, I'll check that." Know what I mean?

Our facility (large pharma plant) used to use imaint software. I think it worked well until we were forced to got SAP (which is an acronym for: Sucks All Profit)

Think a crew sheet good for each need that would list the key points and the special needs.. Like lathe #3 needs once a week check of gear box oil.
Excel spreadsheet good because easy to alter and add notes.

with the if the regular guy is off the others may know what is needed.