What's new
What's new

Drain your compressor at the end of the day?

martin_05

Hot Rolled
Just got off a surreal phone call. I called my compressor manufacturer to question the leakage I am getting (120 to 90 PSI overnight with nothing connected at all). In addition to that, the compressor has an automatic condensate drain valve. I thought this was cool until the damn thing cycles every single time the compressor starts and has a timer with a maximum wait time of 45 minutes. Again, wasting compressed air unnecessarily.

What came back from the other end was "Well, sir the manual says you are supposed to completely drain the tank at the end of the day every day. That's what we recommend".

Once I picked my jaw off the floor I told him that my day job is at a company with dozens of very, very large compressors of all kinds spread all over the facility. There is no way anyone is going to drain them all. It's ludicrous. In fact, I've never seen that done in thirty years, anywhere. You'd probably get fired for it. I mean, it costs money to compress air!

So, here's are the questions:

How often do you drain condensate from your compressor?

What kind of air leakage do you see, whether a machine is connected or not?

Thanks,

-Martin

I drain mine daily just habit and improves the performance of my plasma cutter greatly

Sent from my LGL62VL using Tapatalk

I never drain mine. I have a kaeser auto drain on the wet tank and one is built into the dryer. They fill up with condensate then once they are full they drain only the condensate. No compressed air comes out the auto drain. No compressed are is wasted and they are quiet too.

Drained of air or water???

My last job had a slick setup, compressor was in the ceiling and they ran about 10' of 1/2" diameter hydraulic hose to a ball valve. Nice knowing the water would drain down the hose.