What's new
What's new

Drilling 316 stainless question - SMALL HOLE - TINY BIT!!!! = breaking

the.hogman

Aluminum
I am having a heck of a time. I am having to drill press 1.15mm (.0453") holes clear through 3/16" SS 316 round. According to charts I am calculating about:
(45 SFM x 12) \ (.0453 x pi 3.14) = RPM 3,600 with a feed of .001"

Does this make sense? I have never worked with stainless before and this seems like the RPM is so high it just asks for rubbing and work hardening. I "common sensed" it and run about half that speed, but it really doesn't seem to matter. Additionally, I am center punching. I am sure this doesn't help either.

I am using HSS oxide 118 degree bits. Whether I use coated or not, I am breaking every bit I have in stock.

I have a very solid steel work piece jig so rigidity is not a big factor right now.

HELP! Do I go cobalt, 135 degree split point bits? I really appreciate all of the knowledge on here. I am open to any suggestions.

1.15mm holes should not present a serious problem. Breakage of your drills can be the result of quite a few issues:

1. The drill is not running true. Many chucks are not accurate when it comes to small sizes, and it also possible that the drill press itself has some runout.
2. Misalignment between your centre punch and the drill. Try using a small centre drill to start the holes
3. Pecking the drill in and out is better than feeding it straight through. How deep are the holes?
3. A play in the quill down feed. This can suddenly pull the drill fast down when coming through the material.

Don't know where you got 45 SFM, we don't even run CF8M castings that slow. That makes your RPM real low.

Use 60-65 SFM. RPM should be around 5,500. Don't c'punch. Coolant or oil.

A few years ago, we had a part with 147,000 small holes. Material was Inconel and 1/2" thick. IIRC, we broke less than 100 drills.
JR

Don't know where you got 45 SFM, we don't even run CF8M castings that slow. That makes your RPM real low.