What's new
What's new

Drilling/Tapping small blind holes in aluminum, quite a few questions.

CTV47

Plastic
Alright so I'll keep this short and sweet. I am taking on a project where I have to drill and tap 675, #4-40, 1/8" deep, blind holes in 6061 aluminum. Since I can't afford a proper CNC mill I am making do with my 1/2hp drill press and grizzly hand tapping tool. I'm not a professional by any means but I do hope to get there eventually :scratchchin:.

My questions are namely in regards to the best type of drill bit and tap for this job, and how long I can reasonably expect my tools tools to last.

1: What is the best type of drill bit to use for my application? Thus far I have been using #43, TiN coated drill bits.

2: What would be the best style and finish tap to use for 1/8" deep holes by hand?

For a long while I was using bright finish thread forming taps(with appropriate size drill bit) in aluminum. I switched over too using a TiN coated, spiral fluted tap midway through my last project to great results. Much easier cutting and clears chips remarkably well. WD-40 was used for lubrication.

3: Is there a good way to calculate the useful lifespan of my cutting tools like the drill and tap?

Thank you very much for your time and expertise, it is very much appreciated.

I like Titex then Guhring for drills and chromed bottoming form taps for aluminum. For the drill size I would shoot for 50% thread, which depends on the H limit to some extent. Tool life generally is when you break it, they really shouldn't wear much. I have never used WD-40 as a lubricant so no help there, but if it works and what you like why change. If you are not having any problems with what you are using then I don't see any reason to change.

Is there any way to leave material on and use a plug tap then follow up with the bottoming tap, then cut to height/length?

Circuit board drills like what DScott mentioned are good.