What's new
What's new

Electrolysis And Hydrogen Embrittlement

J.Ramsey

Hot Rolled
On a motorcycle forum I visit a person asked about removing rust from some engine, transmission and clutch related parts and I mentioned using electrolysis.
Needless to say every reply was negative saying the parts would have to be reheat treated or the part would be ruined or unsafe and so on.
I've used this process a lot in the last year or so and have never run into any problems what so ever, but I'm not a chemical engineer either.
Is it bs or true?

Anodic electrocleaning, which is the most common way to electroclean, doesn't produce hydrogen embrittlement. These folks at the motorcycle forum are just trying to show their knowledge of fancy sounding terms they dont understand.

Anodic electrocleaning, which is the most common way to electroclean, doesn't produce hydrogen embrittlement. These folks at the motorcycle forum are just trying to show their knowledge of fancy sounding terms they dont understand.
I'd bet those same guys are all keen on "billet" material to make parts out of. :-)
...lew...

Anodic electrocleaning, which is the most common way to electroclean, doesn't produce hydrogen embrittlement.

I don't know a heck of a lot about the chemistry involved, but electrolytic de-rusting does generate a lot of hydrogen bubbles (the foaming you see when the de-rusting gets going), seen here on the web site McRuff posted:

kevin3-sm.jpg

Caption: Hydrogen bubbles forming on the object's surface during electrolysis

I've been getting quotes for electrolytic nickel plating, and all the plating shops include a post-heat as standard industry practice, to bake-out the hydrogen bubbles, and prevent hydrogen embrittlement. This is described on McRuff's link as heating the part to 300 - 450° F for 1 - 2 hours.

From McRuff's Electrolytic Rust Removal link:

Hydrogen Embrittlement of Steel - A Cautionary Note