What's new
What's new

End mill recommendations for Aluminum

RP Designs

Plastic
I guess I should preface this by saying I am a learning hobbyist and not a professional so I am seeking some guidance. I am working on learning CNC machining and am starting to get a handle on some of the simpler things. One thing I seem to be struggling a bit with is end mills. I have been shopping around and trying a variety of end mills just to see what works and what doesn't. I have done the Enco cheap HSS import mills only to find that they break surprisingly easy. I have had better luck with their Putnam end mills which seem to work fairly decent but I am looking for a bit more. For now, I am only working in Aluminum so that is what I am shopping for. I am running a 3HP knee mill based CNC machine set up to run 6K rpm with flood coolant.
First, for the learner, what is a good end mill (what brand) to use that will produce a good surface finish while being fairly forgiving of a newbies ham fisted techniques?
Should I stick with HSS or will I gain much by switching to carbide?
Anyone have any other words of wisdom?

Stick with a quality HSS 2 flute and you'll do fine.

If you want to try carbide, I like SGS Ski-Carb. They produce the best side cut finish I've seen and are durable. The down side is they cost $$.

Browse the MSC Big Book

I typically buy from McMaster-Carr just because it's easier for me at work to do that and they do carry quality cutting tools.

McMaster-Carr

Tom

Look for high helix endmills for aluminum. Even in HSS, these work pretty good, because they are very sharp, have lots of flute space to hold the chips and eject the chips well. You do need to be diligent with coolant application and get the chips out of the cut because they can plug up quickly and break off.
In solid carbide, I really like the YG carbide endmills. They are available in high helix polished flute. The extra stiffness of solid carbide is a plus for more accurate machining.