What's new
What's new

Engine oil as cutting fluid

Drebank

Plastic
Hello!

I'm new to machining and also to this forum so I'd like to say hi to everybody and apologise for a potentially stupid question - I have a 9x20 small lathe and engine oil is much more available and cheaper than cutting oil to obtain in my country. Is it permissible to use ordinary automotive engine oil as cutting fluid or would I get bad results, tool life etc?

Thanks for all the answers.

I've never tried it but I knew one fellow who used old motor oil for threading pipe. He was quite busy and threaded a lot of pipe; he seemed happy with the results but that's a pretty vague report.

Proper cutting oil isn't really that expensive, especially compared to the price of motor oil in Europe, and for home shop and occasional use a liter can last a very long time. From personal experience it pays to use decent stuff. You'll also have a much easier time if you get some good dedicated tapping fluid for threading- I've been amazed at the difference this can make: regular cutting oil= torn threads/ good tapping fluid= beautiful threads on the same part with same die.

There seems to be quite a variety of cutting fluid formulations being sold, so apparently it is not a simple problem. If motor oil is what is readily available, experiment a little and determine if it is good enough for the task at hand. I've heard reports of good results from some odd sounding choices, like bacon fat (lard), kerosene, grain alcohol, milk (yes, from a cow), and others. But personally, I'd recommend a good quality commercial cutting oil specifically engineered for the type of material being cut. It can make a tremendous difference in finish quality, and as Screwmachine wrote, a small amount will last a long time for hobby usage.