What's new
What's new

Shop safety videos or pictures

Mike Hedger

Aluminum
I am a HS automotive instructor as well as a small fab shop owner and it is getting that time of year where I am looking for some good shop safety pictures or short videos to drive the point home to my students that things out in the shop as well as there garage can hurt or even kill them.

Let me know if you guys have any pictures that will help out.

I was in a small one man machine shop yesterday when the owner was turning a part on a 15" lathe with NO SAFETY GLASSES ON. He also had a button up shirt on that had the tails hanging out just waiting to get caught in the lead screw. I guess he has never been to the eye doctor for metal in the eye.

Thank you, Mike

How graphic do you want? There are accident photos on this site and others of death by engine lathe. I do not like to see them, but they are real and real graphic. Drives the point home pretty quick.

For videos these days, I can't imagine anything easier than going to YouTube and typing something into the search bar.

What are the tools and machines you're dealing with. No point showing the students a picture or someone killed in a lathe mishap if they'll never be running a lathe.

If you're talking general shop safety like glasses and proper clothing I would wait for someone to mess up and then use them as an example to drill the rules into the minds of the other students.

What are the tools and machines you're dealing with. No point showing the students a picture or someone killed in a lathe mishap if they'll never be running a lathe.

If you're talking general shop safety like glasses and proper clothing I would wait for someone to mess up and then use them as an example to drill the rules into the minds of the other students.