What's new
What's new

Finding the Holy Grail: A decent, low cost QCTP

Ryan Slaback

Aluminum
I am a tech ed instructor in a small high school. I recently finally got a lathe back in the lab. It is a 1950ish SB 16/24 and I love it to death. However, it came with the standard style tool post and a spinning 4 way toolpost. I would like to get a QCTP for it because that is likely what the students will run into in the real world and it will definitely help with making sure the tool is running on center. However, I also have a limited budget in that a nice Aloris would be over 20 percent of my entire yearly budget. Is there such a thing as a decent off brand that is available? I have been looking for a good used post but everyone else seems to know what they are worth as well.

I've been there Ryan. Just continue with the 4 way toolpost soon enough you will be annoyed to the point that you will find money to buy a quality toolpost. I bought a CXA which is a size larger than usually put on a 13" swing but I wanted rigidity. If I had to choose again I would go for a Multifix.

On the last push to Stainless.

Raymond