What's new
What's new

Getting started with a lathe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sguan12

Plastic
Hi all,

After watching some youtube videos from this guy, I'm just fascinated by what he was able to make with a lathe at home. I know there will probably be a steep learning curve but I'm really interested to learn. I have zero experience with machining, I'm a software developer as a professional. I'm also into radio control cars so learning a bit of machining will definitely be complementing to my Radio-Control hobby.

JohnnyQ9
- YouTube

Are you there lathe out there that are worth it for less than $1000? Where should I begin? I checked out Princess Auto(Harbor Freigh equivalent) and they have a small mini lathe but I'm not sure if it's for any precision work.

Is there such thing as aftermarket support for these machines that I should look out for? If that's the case then it's better to buy a brand name?

Best you ask around on hobby shop sites. Don't waste time and money of HF Chinese JUNK. Might as well piss your money down a rat hole. Look for a 9" South Bend. They are all over the place, fine for what you are doing and parts/support will be there forever......Bob

They do sell a small assortment of "left hand" drill bits.

Dubious quality, but handy that they are open on sunday.....

Don't waste your time on the cheap new lathes. Start a search for a used Southbend, Rockwell, or Logan machine. There are lots of other brand names that are worthy. Check out Tony's site above for more complete descriptions. Find yourself a copy of L.H. Sparey's book, "The Amateur's Lathe". It will fill in the blanks in your idea of lathe work. Good Luck, and Regards, Clark

They do sell a small assortment of "left hand" drill bits.

Dubious quality, but handy that they are open on sunday.....