What's new
What's new

Help! Machining a curved stair tread

ProfH

Plastic
Hi,

I've two stairs that are a bit odd in shape. I did a quick 3D draw for them:
Stairs_Render.jpg

There used to be carpet on them but we want to replace it with hardwood... I was wondering if somebody can help guide me through the process to machine these treads?
I use Fusion 360 to model and CAM.. I've access to a shopbot desktop and have used it a few times already.. but I'm not an expert...
I've left over hardwood interlocking panels from when I did the floor...

What I've in mind right now is:
1) Get the right measurements, the above is just an approximation... and transfer that into a model. Any ideas for how to accurately transfer the curve?
2) I interlock enough panels to form a continuous panel big enough to cover the curve maybe staple them into a flat MDF or something
3) Cut both treads from the same panel because if it's big enough for the lower step, I should have enough?
4) Figure out what to do with the nose? maybe get a couple of these: http://ljsmith.com/assets/files/pdf/BendingLandingTread.pdf if you think it's a good idea..

ideas?

This is WOOD: Machining not Needed.

ProfH

With all due respect, you are approaching this job from the wrong perspective. This is WOOD, correct? No machining is needed. The tolerances just aren't that fine! +/- 0.125 is overkill.

The shape is not all that unusual. Older homes often have the bottom two steps in that configuration. This is especially so if the newel post at the base of the balustrade is round. (My own childhood home had a square newel post, so only the very bottom step had the rounded end.)

You need to set up a wood router with a radius attachment. The name of the profile bit is a "bullnose cutter" or "stair nose cutter".

You have the freedom to use sandpaper on a form-fitting block for the final smoothing.