What's new
What's new

Newbie to cnc

jack123529

Aluminum
Hello everyone, i just want to introduce myself and thank the admins for letting me join the forum :D also i could use some help. I was browsing the forum and i could'nt find a fadal section, are these machines dead? we just bought one at the workshop and im supposed to use it, but i have no experience at all with cnc machines, im the designer at the company, i use solidworks and recently started using solidcam hoping to be able to gcode parts the right way.

the machine is a FADAL VMC 3016 with a 88HS control, it does'nt have a floppy drive only a rs232 port but since its a 3 phase powered machine and we currently dont have the electrical instalation, we havent powered it yet. i read the manuals and now i have an idea on how to power it up and load some tools and home it but thats it, im a little worried about the control since ive been reading it doesnt have much memory capacity and i will probably have to drip feed the program in to it, is this a bad idea?

can someone shine some light on me? any help would be apreciated, also english is not my native language so i apologize for my lack in writing skills :)

Jack,
Fadal has been out of business for about 10 years or so. I am still able to get support as we have 5 of them on site. (Only 1 in our shop) We have 5 axis vmc 4020's. We often drip feed and have never had a problem. You can still program on the pc too if you have a multi-thread processor, however, we usually load the whole program if our controller can handle it.
They are fairly light duty machines but have served us well.
Good luck from an "old timer".

The Fadal name is gone. They got bought out by G&L, who got bough out by Thyssenkrup, who sold out to MAG, who just got bought by the "Fives Group" in France. I upgraded the memory in ours several years ago Great machines if you do the PMs.
JR