What's new
What's new

high school shop projects

protobot

Plastic
Hello everyone! I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. A bit about myself, I'm a tool maker with over 12 years in a job shop. I can run everything from a drill press to EDM machines and do great work. After the economy turned sour I started looking around for new work and found it over the summer. So for the past 3 weeks I've been a high school teacher at our local vocational/tech center with zero teaching experience outside of training new employees on the job. It's been an experience to say the least, I've dealt with students that don't want to be here and don't care what happens. I've also got a few that really want to learn about machining, those are ones that make me get out of bed in the morning.
The problem I have is the complete lack of resources for shop teachers out there. I was literally given the keys and a list of the state standards one week before school started. I've got a handful of 2nd year students that really want to work on a good project besides just squaring up stock and turning things on a lathe. Does anybody know where I can find some blueprints and assembly drawings for a great class project? I'd love to find something with several individual parts that have to be assembled after they're completed.

thanks guys,

class project