What's new
What's new

Hopefully not OT- please recco a decent starter welding setup for AL Total noob

Long Tom

Stainless
I'm buying an aluminum boat and have always wanted to learn to weld anyway so I'm thinkin' maybe it's time.... can you guys give me a general sense of what I need to get going?

I'd like to be able to weld steel and aluminum. NOT heavy, thick stuff. NOT for hire, strictly for fun. And I don't want to spend a lot of money getting setting up.

I know this'll quickly devolve into recommendations for giant pro used setups I can buy at government auction then rebuild using surplus Eastern Bloc parts procured from the dark web. :) This is not what I want. I want compact, functional, economical and will run off my shop 220, etc. LATER, I can upgrade to "whatever". For now I want an idea of where to START.

As a machinist I don't lack for scraps and drops of steel and aluminum to play around with.

Thanks guys.

you don't say what you expect to be welding. 1/2 or .020..... do you want to learn to tig (higher learning curve), mig (lower learning curve), o/a (a prerequisite in my opinion)
how does the boat fit into this? i have friends with aluminum boats and none of them weld

I bought one of the Lincoln complete tig setups 20 years ago, and they still sell a similar model.

lacks the grunt of a big old power supply, but will weld modest alu pretty easily

The Miller Econotig is the starting machine for hobby guys. The low end is not less than 30A so you can't run a bead down the side of a Coke can.

I have a 2016 AHP AlphaTig 200x 200 and a bottle of Argon. I could not be happier with it and recommend it as a starter set-up. It's capable of running 110v or 220v and either AC or DC.

I've used it for steel and aluminum, stick and TIG.

Very competitively priced for a home gamer, relative to capable but expensive commercial machines.