What's new
What's new

How to align linear sleeve bearings?

dbooksta

Plastic
I have an assembly I need to ride on two linear motion rails, so two sleeve bearings per rail. I have the assembly tapped for the bearing blocks, but if I tighten all blocks the bearings bind. If I let one of the blocks on the rail "float" by loosely attaching it with only one screw then the rails move smoothly (see photo below). How can I secure all the blocks without binding?

I'm assuming I have to shim the floating blocks, and then I'll be able to screw them tight. But I've never tried this before. What tools, materials, and tricks can I use to accomplish this?

IMG_0644.jpg

In my experience, the first thing you need to know is the geometric conditions of all the elements, in terms of flatness and coplanarity of mounting surfaces. Typically I do that sort of work with a surface plate and indicator to determine where things are. Then you have a starting guess as to how to shim the bearing blocks, or conversely, how to "correct" the part to which the bearing blocks get fastened.

How are the two cross-pieces attached to that piece in the center? My guess is there is twist between the two cross-pieces.

The cross-pieces are grooved and screwed to the center piece, which is rabbetted to fit the grooves. There is undoubtedly some twisting from that. If I could somehow plane the whole assembly perfectly flat I would (though I have no access to machines large enough to do that), but even then I don't know if the bushing blocks are perfectly identically dimensioned....

Suffice it to say: I'm stuck working on the assembly I have, as this is a one-off I picked up already done to this stage.

How are the two cross-pieces attached to that piece in the center? My guess is there is twist between the two cross-pieces.

I agree
Its a pour design
The 4 positions of the bearings need to stay in the same plane with all forces involved
You can machine the assembly in one go to get it all alligned