What's new
What's new

How to Cut 27 TPI Threads On Lathe ?

Degull

Aluminum
Hi everyone, I am a newbie. I have a Standard Modern 1120 lathe with quick change feed box. 27 TPI is not listed on the feed box chart, how would you cut 27 TPI?

You probably have 54 TPI. Check your end gearing from the spindle to the input of your quick change box and see if you can swap things around to use the 54TPI selection and rearrange the end gearing to double the ratio- example- if you had a 30 tooth gear driving a 60 tooth, swap their position to double the ratio.

27 pitch? Unless you have a suitable change gear for the index you're pretty much up a creek. 27 pitch is used almost exclusively for small tapered pipe threads, some mike stands, and the straight brass pipe thread used in lighting fixtures. If the engagement is short and the thread is a set used like in a light fixture where mechanical strength is of little consequence you can use 28 threads per inch and bore or thread for clearance. It won;t fit right but it will do the job.

Pipe threads have to seal but since 1/8 27 threads engage but 3/16 to 1/4" and the material is ductile, you can cut the one thread 28 pitch and count on one time assembly, pipe dope and local deformation of the weaker material to make the seal.

These are hold-your-nose-and-get-it-done expedients no careful craftsman likes to perpetrate but if it gets the job done...Back in my South Bend days, I've resorted to them a few dozen times on grease fittings, gland flush connections, and the like with no call-backs. Needless to say my present lathe cuts 27 pitch.

Randyc- you are correct- BUT it would work if you had a 108 TPI position on the QC box!!! good catch- thanks for pointing out my dumb error. Suppose "engage brain before you let out the clutch" applies here.

To Forrest- a mans got to do what a mans got to do! and the pitch is fine enough that most would not notice anyway!

Dan