What's new
What's new

How do I steer my career path to the areospace industry

Chips-Ahoy

Aluminum
I have been machining for 8 years, started writing my own programs about 4 years ago. The best I can tell... the money is in the aerospace industry. Without having a degree I figure the highest paying salary job would be in programming. According to what I read, aerospace manufacturing is almost the only manufacturing industry that is thriving during these shity economical times. Correct me if I am assuming to much.

My plan is to learn Catia, and apply for a programming position.
There is an aerospace manufacturing company near me that has been advertising a programming position for 3 years...

Anyone have Catia experience? Specifically Catia + AMG.

What is the advantage of catia over solidworks? They seem similar.

Any advice is apreciated, thanks.

I have been machining for 8 years, started writing my own programs about 4 years ago. The best I can tell... the money is in the aerospace industry. Without having a degree I figure the highest paying salary job would be in programming. According to what I read, aerospace manufacturing is almost the only manufacturing industry that is striving during these shity economical times. Correct me if I am assuming to much.

There is an aerospace manufacturing company near me that has been advertising a programming position for 3 years...

Aerospace is definitely not the only industry still thriving. Its also definitely not the only place a machinist/programmer can make good money. If you want a job in a certain industry the only way to break in is to APPLY.

From what I have been told, company's using Catia only want someone with catia experience. I believe it is the primary CAD/CAM software throughout automotive and aerospace industries.

How to get into aerospace? Apply for a job at aerospace companies. Do it until you get one.