What's new
What's new

What tooling to buy for first time VMC owner.

athack

Stainless
The machine is a 2011 Haas TM2P and I would like to know what tools to buy. There is a 20 tool ATC and spindle is 6000 rpm. I am new to CNC milling and would really appreciate advise as to what tool holders to have on hand.

Also if you want to recommend your favorite brand and tooling house or sales person it would be appreciated.

Thanks Athack

The machine is a 2011 Haas TM2P and I would like to know what tools to buy. There is a 20 tool ATC and spindle is 6000 rpm. I am new to CNC milling and would really appreciate advise as to what tool holders to have on hand.

Also if you want to recommend your favorite brand and tooling house or sales person it would be appreciated.

Thanks Athack

On our TM-2:

3 Kurt D688's

Most used toolholders are ER-16 and ER-32 collet holders. I have 4 TG100 holders too.

Don't waste your time with weldon style toolholders.

Buy the shortest gauge length you can find.

Here is what is typically in our machine as far as tools:

1/16 em
1/8 em
1/4 em
3/8 em
1" ripper mill
82° Countersink
90° Countersink/Chamfer
1/4" Spot Drill

The remainder of the slots are used for different size drills/taps/corner rounding.

If you didn't get the probe you might want to look into one of the haimer 3d tasters.

Lathe Inserts .com

Tool Holders, Collets and Machine Accessories - MariTool

Tim

Weird, I'm surfing the internet tonight looking at prices for tooling to see if I have enough money to buy and set-up a TM-2p. I would talk to your local/regional tooling houses as well as the internet/national ones. Your local guy maybe able to do some dealing as well as bring in reps from the tooling manufacturers.

For a smaller VMCs and general purpose, short run work: I would look at using lots of solid carbide 1/2 and under. A stubby 1/2" rougher is my workhorse. A 1/2 with a 1" length of cut is used for finishing. (2 flute for alum., 4 for steel).