What's new
What's new

How long have you been machining?

Wild West

Hot Rolled
Ok, I'll go first. I started on the job cranking handles when in Nov. of '67 so here in just a few months I'll be at the half century mark. The thing is, I'm still doing it and enjoy it. I have a 2400 sf commercial rental and I'm a one man shop and that's how I like it. Of course I started out with manual machining on Bridgeport mills, Sheldon and Hardinge lathes. As soon as I saw a Bridgeport type mill (Induma) fitted with and NC (not CNC) tape system in '72 I was attracted to it like a magnet. When CNC came around they couldn't keep me away from it. I just plain like the technology and making things out of metal. I also MIG & TIG weld, braze solder and fabricate. It's all fun.

BTW, I have never gotten along with wood. I love the look and smell but it is a foreign material to me to build anything out from. Any wood project of mine never turn out well.

How about you?

I started playing machinist at the ripe old age of 13 when I went to trade school I'm now 74+ and still work full time 40+ hours per week.

Only 23 years for me. I still vividly remember being so intimidated by all the knobs, handles etc. on the manual mills and lathes I learned on. I remember thinking there is no way I can do this as I reached for the handles with shaking hands. A week or so later it wasn't a big deal. CNC was like the promised land once I got on them. I am much better at telling a machine what to do than cranking it around. I suck at etch-a-sketches too!

I started in June 1968 - my first job - a little machining, fabricating and welding - loved it!!!
Three more jobs in small shops and then opened my own in early 70s. Retired around 2002 and still go to my shop 4 to 5 days a week to machine weld etc. I love it as much as surfing!

Started at the CAT dealership in 1967.

Got a nice job out today

There have been some gaps, Science got in the way... ;-)