What's new
What's new

How useful would a 5-axis milling and 3D-printing machine be?

Kauff_K

Plastic
I am an engineering student working with a group to develop a machine with applications in prototyping and manufacturing. Before I devote an extensive effort to the design, I am gathering information on the potential usefulness and demand for such a device. I am aware that the actual usefulness will depend heavily on whether or not the machine can actually be made, but for the sake of argument and some initial opinions, suppose that it functions as described.

The goal is to create CNC machine that can perform both high-precision milling and 3D-printing operations in 5-axis, although probably not on the same part. 3D printing will be done with the standard range of plastics, and milling will be done on materials ranging in hardness from foam to aluminum. The machine's maximum work area and fabrication size is estimated by a cube of side length approximately 30 centimeters.

Similar versions of this technology exist already and are used in large industries, but cost hundreds of thousands of dollars. I am hoping that this design will be affordable to hobbyists, community makerspaces, craftsmen and small businesses in need of some manufacturing ability.

Since many here have experience with using manufacturing technology such as 3D-printers, CNC mills, or lathes to create a prototype or product, please consider answering any of following questions.

- What are the most significant challenges or barriers you face when you want to prototype or manufacture a complex item?

- What resources are typically expended to perform the prototyping or manufacturing, in terms of time, money, etc.?

- What (if anything) annoys you the most about conventional machines or machining processes that you use regularly?