What's new
What's new

I just became a Tree Hugger - Tree 2UVR-C

KC130Loadie

Aluminum
Hey everyone, first post here on PM. I am a newbie to the machining world, and current student learning the trade...geared to the CNC side of things.

First mill I used was a Lagun FTV-1, and a couple of Bridgeports, then I got to use my buddies old Tree 2UVR with the "Z" collet quick change system and X-axis powerfeed.
So, after much reading, and reading, and re-reading, I found on Craigslist a Tree 2UVRC - Journeyman / Tradesman 200 that had some old NC electronics and servos / motors on it. It was part of a giant lot of gear to sell from a welding shop. I asked the guy if they would let it go separately, and they said sure. I asked how much, and they said $600. Yeah....$600.
I went down to the shop which is only 5 miles away to check it out. It has the body of a 2UVR-C all right, big box ways. No power feeds at all unfortunately (I guess that was redundant with the servos). The "kid" who works at the family (I assume) run shop and was handling liquidating their equipment said he had never seen it turned on in the 12 years he'd been there; it just sat in the back of the shop taking up room and were eager to get rid of it. I asked them to put power to it, and after some fiddling with the enclosure door lock / switch, she turned on. One of the other employees said that no one knew how to turn it on, and it was the first time it has been on as far as he knew. The NC control seems to be shot, no response to any button mashing, but the forward and reverse buttons fired up the motor and the stop worked as well.
Ahhhh, she purrs like a kitten. No grinding, clunking, nada...just smooth.

The table fed back and forth on the X-Axis very nicely without any issue.

I tested the spindle for any run-out...I couldn't find any. The quick change collet system worked fine, and they even had 8 collets. Checked backlash on the X-axis, there is maybe 1-2 Thou tops.