What's new
What's new

I want to start a small shop, but need advice!

GearHacker

Plastic
Hello everyone. This will be my first post after much info gathering and reading some of the vast amounts of wisdom that all of you folks have to share.
First a little background on me so that you guys have somewhere to start if you are able to help me.
I'm 22, I live in Western NC, I graduated from my local community college with my AA and a 2 year welding degree. I currently work for a company that does military and gov contracts for blast defense and blast protection. I do welding there and have in the last 6 months been moved from welding over to helping with machining. We run a Haas VF-3 and I have fallen in love with the whole process. My experience with machining to date it just running pre-written programs and doing a little setup/probing with the VF-3. I want to start my own shop and eventually move into working for myself full time. I have a lot of experience working on airsoft guns and from that i want to create innovative products for consumers in that market. I have several ideas that i know would sell after talking to several distributors in my area.

What I would like advice on is this:
What machine to buy? (I am most familiar with Haas, and yes i know it is a very open ended question)
What CAD to buy? I currently have Fusion 360
What lathe to buy?
What compressor to buy?
What saw to buy?
Worth it for 4th or 5th axis?
Is it better to buy an older used machine and pay cash up front that is cheaper, or buy a better newer/new machine with more capabilities and make payments?
My budget is 50k to 100k, but the less I have to spend and still get good quality the better.
Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Not that my opinion really matters because I dont own a shop, but I have seen several of similar threads so here is goes:

What machine to buy? What ever you can afford and gets the job done
What CAD to buy? Stick with 360