What's new
What's new

Indexable endmill question

cj133

Aluminum
Hi all,

This may be a really stupid question but, we're trying out our first indexable endmill and holy loud! :eek:

The one I'm using is an APT Tri-Dex 3/4" single tooth design.

I wish I could find some basic speeds and feeds on such a tool, but I've had no luck. Apparently APT Tri-Dex isn't the brand I should've went with, I don't know. I ordered it from McMaster and being a noob I didn't really know what I was doing.

I'm running 4800 rpm and 20 inches per minute on aluminum sounds scary loud taking an 1/8" bite doing a contour.

I'm using a Prototrak SMX FHM 7 so I max out at 5000 rpm.

It seemed to cut nice and the machine has plenty of power, but it sounded abusive.

Are these style end mills typically loud, or is it how I've got it set up?

Hi all,

This may be a really stupid question but, we're trying out our first indexable endmill and holy loud! :eek:

I wish I could find some basic speeds and feeds on such a tool, but I've had no luck. Apparently APT Tri-Dex isn't the brand I should've went with, I don't know. I ordered it from McMaster and being a noob I didn't really know what I was doing.

I'm running 4800 rpm and 20 inches per minute on aluminum sounds scary loud taking an 1/8" bite doing a contour.

It seemed to cut nice and the machine has plenty of power, but it sounded abusive.

cheap inserts usually cause more problems than money saved

HuFlungDung (your name makes me laugh every time I see it) and DMF_TomB are correct, this is old technology. The single flute paddle style indexable end mill is not free cutting at all, it just bangs into the workpiece and will be loud when cutting. I'd look at a 2 or 3 flute indexable end mill with inserts that have a helix so that it is freer cutting.

If you would like to make your current cutter work for you I'd look at lower your RPM, I'd be at closer to 2,500 RPM and 7.5 IPM (500 SFM and .003" CLPT). It should sound better there.

Mike