What's new
What's new

Introduction from the U.P. of Michigan

J Richardson

Plastic
Hi,

After lurking for the better part of two years, I figure it's time to post. My name is John Richardson, and I live in Negaunee, MI. Currently I am employed as a millwright, working the local paper mills, power plants and iron mines, but I always have been and always will be a heavy equipment mechanic. Can't deny your past, I guess.
Machining is always something I've wanted to do, and I began shopping for machines about five years ago. The current arsenal includes an Atlas 618, a 4901 Clausing, a Sieg X3, and a Rockwell vertical with DRO, etc. I soon learned the limits of the Atlas, and purchased the Clausing. The X3 is still in use, as the Rockwell is in storage with my welders and other non machine related tooling until I can dismantle it and bring it into our very small basement.
I have no machining experience at all, and the local schools have discontinued their programs years ago. Although I have always been a quick learner, I am having trouble with a lot of the basics. I've got an Upshur vertical engine partially complete, and am starting to use my 4901 a bit more. I believe that a lot of my issues have to do with the cheap tooling I purchased, ie Chinese boring bars, etc.
If anyone in the area is interested in meeting up, please let me know. I have a few questions to ask already, but will save those for a bit later.

Thanks,

John

Hi John and welcome aboard you say
Hi,
Currently I am employed as a millwright, working the local paper mills, power plants and iron mines, John
I also work the paper mills my last job was the cluster press change three 40ton rolles out and back in, 10 hrs all in, worked our b******s off.
ask me anything I will do my best
I'll keep a look out for you
Kevin
ps I'm of to bed its 0033 hrs

J Richardson: