What's new
What's new

Jet 13x40 should I buy it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

#Dave

Plastic
Hey guys new member here but ive been on this forum alot as a nonmember.
Im a hobby machinist looking to buy a new lathe. Currently I have a grizzly G4000 9x19 and am looking to upgrade to bigger and better.
I found a local deal on a new Jet 13x40 belt drive scratch and dent model for what seems to be a good deal to me- $2,500.
Should I buy it? or is my money better spent on something older used non chineese?

Thanks in advance

Hey guys new member here but ive been on this forum alot as a nonmember.
Im a hobby machinist looking to buy a new lathe. Currently I have a grizzly G4000 9x19 and am looking to upgrade to bigger and better.
I found a local deal on a new Jet 13x40 belt drive scratch and dent model for what seems to be a good deal to me- $2,500.
Should I buy it? or is my money better spent on something older used non chineese?

Thanks in advance

If it's this one here BDB-134A, Belt, 13" Swing 4" Centers, 2HP, 1Ph, 23V Only , without a doubt go for it. Especially for hobby / educational a new machine beats the pants off an old dilapidated one no matter how good might've been when new decades ago. The old ones where often capable of taking a heavy cut and ran decades day in day out in production but that's irrelevant for an amateur. Unless you are an expert it's stupid to buy a used machine based on a picture - there can be many ( many ! ) things wrong with it which you will not be able to fix. Like, you can't get bearings. Or out of round bearing bores, gearbox shafts with worn splines, gears with damaged teeth, cracked beds, worn bearing holes in aprons, inconvenient spindle noses etc etc. Huge paper weight. It's all a bit like 2nd hand cars : if it's good, the "dealer" has plenty buddies who'll pick it up before it hits the lot.