What's new
What's new

K&T 2H opinions

egillespie85

Plastic
I think I have a good idea what most of you think about these mills, but I have a few questions.

I'm looking at a '41 K&T 2H horizontal mill. I ran it today and it appears to be in decent shape considering the age. The y axis has a half turn worth of play, the z axis auto feed in the up direction doesn't work, the fast direction has a noise that I can only describe as a straight cut gear sound. The unit comes with a variety of cutting tools and collets.

This machine is so amazing looking that I kind of fell in love with it, but I want to avoid a major project. I've run a variety of vertical mills and have never run a horizontal mill.

I was a motorcycle mechanic for years and worked as an industrial maintenance mechanic and a PLC programmer and troubleshooter too.

I'm looking for a mill to play with at home that I can use to learn some more skills on. I have a heated 40x60 shop to house it. I'm not afraid of tearing something apart, but I'm not skilled at making my own parts to repair something this old with no available parts.

Is there somewhere I can get gears, clutch linkages, clutch dogs, etc for this machine? The shop owner is going to scrap this machine Monday and I feel like I could fix it given I can acquire parts. I feel the price is very negotiable. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I hate to see history destroyed.

Milwaukee Model H milling machine

Please advise.

Erik

I have a 1941 K&T 2H and they are very neat machines.

I needed to get some new z axis screw parts for mine as the previous owner broke the nut and cast iron pedestal that holds the nut. I purchased my parts from LL Richards Machinery. They have a bunch of machines that they are or were parting out.