What's new
What's new

Which lathe to buy?

Plant machinist

Plastic
New here so I hope this is in the right place. I am shopping for a lathe for my home shop. I am hoping to retire in 8 or 10 years and would like to have something to do side jobs on. First I found an Atlas Clausing 6300 series 12x36, $600.00. The seller has new screw for cross feed but I would buy the lead screw and compound screw too. It is a very clean lathe. It looks a lot lighter than I would like. Also found a 5914 Clausing that has surface rust on ways and cross slide as well with 3 jaw Chuck for $1700.00. I have only see pics of this one. I also found a 1957 Sound Bend 13 x 36. The owner says it was his dad's who passed​ away 4 years ago. He was a machinist by trade and has 3 and maybe a 4 jaw with it. He is not sure how much tooling is with it. I think I can buy this one for $1000.00. This guy also has a Bridgeport mill 9x32 table. The only thing he could tell me about it was it had 4477 on it. His dad ran both of these machines at home. $1000.00 for the mill too. I have been a machinist for near 30 years but I am used to running large machines. The smallest I run is a 15 x 54 Lablond. And the largest is a 32 inch swing Lodge and Shipley or a Cincinnati boring mill with a 5' Chuck. Was wondering if the 5914 or the 13x36 Lodge and Shipley is the better choice?

Just a heads up, while most of the machines you mentioned are ok, you might want to remove the reference to Atlas from your post with the edit function. That falls under small/home shop grade machines, and is not for discussion here, per the owner/admin/moderators.

I have been a machinist for near 30 years but I am used to running large machines. The smallest I run is a 15 x 54 Lablond. And the largest is a 32 inch swing Lodge and Shipley or a Cincinnati boring mill with a 5' Chuck. Was wondering if the 5914 or the 13x36 Lodge and Shipley is the better choice?