What's new
What's new

Which lathe to buy

Primitive56

Plastic
I am new to working with lathes and was wondering what would be a good beginers lathe? I am looking at the precision Mathews pm 1030v and the grizzly g0752. The pm has a power cross feed, a quick change tool post and a mt2 taper on the tail stock, and rpm from 50 to 2000 and costs 2300 with shipping. The grizzly has more thread options I believe, an mt3 taper for the tail stock no cross feed, rpm is 100 - to 2000, it has a 4 tool post not quick change. Costs 1904 with shipping. Both have varible speed.

Are there others I should be looking at? Thanks for any help.

I think you could give us more information like:

How often are you going to use it (Daily, weekly or occasionally)
Are you looking to use it for "One offs" or production work.
Is it for a home shop or business work.

... what about secondhand / used?

Lots of questions to be asked ... tell us more then we can spend your money :D

John :typing:

You would think a "Retired teacher" could at least read the sticky's up top about "appropriate machines"

OP : Those home shop toys are not allowed to be discuss on PM. But my .02 minimum 12X36 gear head, 1.5 headstock bore ,power cross feed,quick change gearbox,1000 lbs min weight. That gets you in to $4K cost area for a import.Probably not to much used of any flavor in your area either.

What John said, plus 1,500 lbs on the minimum weight. And less than 30" - 36" c-to-c is a major limiter, even on "small goods" working.

Besides geared-head, "some" of the continuously variable Reeves or PIV drive (Hendey, Sheldon, Cazeneuve) or a DC or VFD drive (Monarch 10EE, Rivett 10XX, L&S AVS..) rather than a geared head can work also.

Hobby-grade and Lathe-Shaped-Objects, such as those you mentioned, are widely discussed, I am sure. But in ta da.. "hobbyists" forums. Of course.

PM is largely "industrial", not hobby. Per the stickies, South Bend forum the main exception.