What's new
What's new

LCD retrofit old monochrome tube - questions

Updog molding

Plastic
Hello all,
I've done a fair amount of digging to try and solve this one myself, but I'm not an expert on video signals and could use a hand.

New to the forum, but long time lurker. A few years ago I started my own injection molding shop. I do all custom runs, mostly my own products. I have 3 machines, and they aren't new 😀.

So, my early 1990s arburg multronica decided to poop a tube. Replacement crts are $800 used, LCD kits are over $1500, and I think I've got it figured out how to diy....

The original tube was a Philips m24, monochrome green screen. 8.4" and 800x600 resolution. I pulled the board out, and the video chip is a tda2595. Looked up the datasheet and noted pin 11 is the composite signal in... I grabbed that pin and hooked up my o scope. Looks like the signal is a 20khz frequency. None of my monitors laying around can display it.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I can post o scope images, modern LCD displays when plugged in, and anything else helpful.

Looking into frequency doublers and all that, but I don't know the first thing...
Thanks a ton,
Jason

Have you tried any troubleshooting on the CRT? It's usually pretty easy to fix them. Composite video is usually 15kHz. You might have a TTL signal.

Verify you have high voltage by arcing the high voltage lead to the chassis (the one with the weird looking suction cup on it). Be careful, it's like 12,000 volts. It'll leave you hurting, like a coil on a gas engine.

If you have high voltage, the flyback transformer is probably good. You can then check the grid voltages. There's not much to them.

Thanks all to the quick reply.

Yes, I did check the tube. Bad fly back for sure! I tried to source a replacement, but it is impossible to find. At2140/160 I believe was the part number.