What's new
What's new

Looking to buy a new Lathe need some advice.

Purestock22

Plastic
Hello all

Been lurking for a while...This is my first post so hope it's in the right/best area of the forum. I am looking a buying a new Lathe. I am a retired automotive instructor/mechanic and have experience on automotive lathes/measuring tools etc so I think my learning curve on actual operation won't be too bad. However I have no real grip on the machine's capability/tooling/metallurgy. My intended usage is strictly as a hobbyist at this point.

What I'm wanting to do is have the capability to cut down (lighten, machine off teeth,etc of some smaller automotive gears and machine some one off small parts(likely aluminum) I know the gears are hardened but I don't know what kind of tooling and lathe would be needed to accomplish this. I have machined aluminum and cast iron no problem on an a automotive lathe but hardened steel is another story. It's hard to find many machine shops here doing small jobs so I decided this might be something I can do.

I've been looking at a couple of new bench lathes. . I know next to nothing about tooling, cutters I might want. Here's an example of what I might want to do. Will either of these machines fit the bill? thanks for your input and sorry for being long winded!

lighweightgears2.jpg hub.jpg

Last edited:
If they are hardened, I am not sure any lathe is going to like that. It's more of a grinding thing.

regards,

Jon P.

The gears in the pics were some out of an old transmission I had cut down in a lathe to lighten the rotating weight in a transmission used for off road racing.