What's new
What's new

Cheap source of aluminum flat stock

Rich V

Plastic
Over the thanksgiving holiday I was cleaning up my shop area and noticed I was low on aluminum flat stock. I’m just a hobby machinist and like to keep a small assortment of sizes around and prefer the stronger alloys like 7075.

I usually buy from Speedy Metals or OnlineMetals but the price of 7075 is getting more expensive every time I look. After a Google search I found a company that sells plate aluminum that will cut to size. After pricing a few pieces of 7075 using the on line tool and comparing prices I ordered up an assortment to give them a try.

FedEx dropped off the package today (5 days coast to coast) and was pleased with what I received.

All pieces were cut too slightly over size and the cuts are very straight and smooth for a saw cut. These will all true up easily with a little face milling.
Best of all the price is very good, 25-50% cheaper than my usual sources for 7075.

These are not as “clean” in dimension or finish as buying extruded flat stock but since I true up my stock on a mill before use this was a bargain.
If you are looking for aluminum flat stock check them out, they sell in a huge range of sizes.

Network Metals Buy Aluminum Plate Online at Network Metals

I posted this on Home Shop Machinist but since this vendor sells in industrial quantities it may be of interest to our commercial minded members.

001-1.jpg

I checked the price for 1 inch thick 1 sq Ft
Network Metals
$89

Speedy metals
12"x12" Plate Plus or Minus 1/4" 14.5296 lbs Price: $191.79

For 1 x2 x12
Network Metals
$22

Speedy metals
12" Plus or Minus 1/4" 2.4240 lbs Price: $26.85

OnlineMetals
One Ft. (12") Length - $31.95

The price difference varies by size/shape but for 7075 it is better than what I was paying at Speedy or Onlinemetals

For 1 x2 x12
Network Metals
$22

Speedy metals
12" Plus or Minus 1/4" 2.4240 lbs Price: $26.85