What's new
What's new

Machine identification and value

Mobdaily

Plastic
I'm completely new to machining. I'm at ironworker by trade and car and motorcycle enthusiast on the side. I've always wanted a lathe and I've come across the opportunity to buy this one. It's old and has been outside for sometime. I have no idea what brand it is, nor are there any serial numbers in plain sight. I know it's missing pieces. The labor involved in freeing up all the moving parts, as well as parts needed is not really a concern. My concern is, is it even worth it to restore it to working condition. Any help in the matter would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_1456.jpg
    IMG_1456.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 267
That one has a long way to go before it makes chips. I doubt you will find parts easily. Nice set of cast legs though.

I understand that. I'd really just like to get an idea of brand or something I can do some research on. I don't know where to start.

Tag under drum switch might be informative - though they often only tell about the dealer - not the maker

The "double" leg this end with bores suggests that it was originally a treadle lathe - human powered

The double left leg that supported a large stepped flywheel/pulley for foot pedal drive suggests that it was made by B. F. Barnes of Rockford, IL (1899-1907).

I think $50 would be a fair price.

Larry

"I'm completely new to machining. I'm at ironworker by trade and car and motorcycle enthusiast on the side. I've always wanted a lathe and I've come across the opportunity to buy this one. It's old and has been outside for sometime. I have no idea what brand it is, nor are there any serial numbers in plain sight. I know it's missing pieces. The labor involved in freeing up all the moving parts, as"

the only labor involved is me, telling you, that that machine is a piece of shit.... unless you are some
cast-iron-archaeologist.....DO NOT BUY THAT machine if you intend to make parts.