What's new
What's new

1/16" End mills are breaking

Zebradog

Banned
Hey everybody-

I'm fairly new to machining, meaning I've n doing it for a while, but it's mostly for small personal projects that don't require a lot of precision, I've got a 1941 Atlas 10" lathe, and a mid 1980's Bridgeport J mill. My dad's done production machining when I was a kid, and I've picked it up as a hobby in the last 3-4 years.

That being said, I decided to get a set of plans for the RG-G Gatling gun. I'm currently making the recoil pins which require a 0.062" wide slot, 0.050" deep and 1.8" long. I had a few 2 flute 1/16" end mills in the tooling I got from the last owner of the mill; those broke really fast. I also ordered a few 4 flute HSS end mills, and I have managed to make 4 complete parts, but I keep breaking the end mills

As it stands, I'm taking .010" deep cuts at a time, and my power feed is almost as low as I can go, and my Mist system is pooling cutting fluid while I make each pass. My max RPM on my mill is 2750, and I have a VFD on it running it at 82hz, so I should be in the 4k RPM Range, or just under it.

I know ideally I need above 5k, but there is no way I can get there. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

You need carbide end mills. 3k-5k rpm take full depth of cut and feed at 1-2ipm. If it's easy to machine material up the feed to 2-3ipm. Buy quality end mills.

The material is CRS, nothing special.

For some reason I thought that Carbide had to be spun faster, and high speed steel was slower, that's why I never tried Carbide.

I actually had the same thoguht about the slitting saw, and I have a blade that may work too. I'll try a Carbide 4 flute end mill as well if I can get one tomorrow.

Carbide is only useful to improve tool stiffness, or increase SFM. Since you are RPM-limited, that's a waste of money, use HSS.