What's new
What's new

Machining Polyurethane

Schliebe

Aluminum
I'm looking for advice on machining Polyurethane, 40 durometer. These are small pieces, only a few parts and will be adhered to aluminum. I have heard of freezing (with dry ice) the polyurethane before, is that going to be necessary?

I appreciate any advice.

I guess it comes in a bunch of variances, but the few I worked with were ok. Like most plastics just make sure the chips clear and don't get it hot.

I used to freeze them in the freezer (no access to liquid nitro) and it helped. We ground the material square because it worked better than milling (didn't need to freeze for grinding, just put in a machinist vice)

If there are counterbores, put them in before you drill the through holes or the material will try to grab and tear.

I hear that "cold shot" helps, but i have no experience with it.

A sharp carbide burr at around 25K rpm will cut even softer grades of polyurethane and rubber at room temperature with no fear of grit contamination of the part or machine tool. Tight limits on dimension can be held as well.

You don't say what shape. We used to grind round pieces on tool grinder with a mandrel. Gives a nice matte finish. I suppose a carbide burr is similar.

Made a mess, though.

Machining 40 durometer is going to be a bitch. I've machined plenty of 60 and 80 durometer, and that is not much fun, but is a bit stiffer.

When machining, I froze the material and the collet I was planning on holding it in together in an industrial deep freeze. Transported the part to the machine in a cooler and used a cold air gun to try and keep it cold longer. I do not believe a home freezer is going to get it sufficiently cold enough to last more than a few seconds worth of machining.